JFSA names nominees for officers, board of directors

The Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona’s board development committee, chaired by Eric Schindler, has recommended the following slate of officers for the 2016-2017 program year: Tom Warne, chair of the board; Eric Schindler, vice chair/board development; Helaine Levy, vice chair; Jim Wezelman, treasurer/secretary; Kathryn Unger, immediate past chair.  Also nominated are Bruce Ash, Ellen Freeman, Michael Shiner and Shelly Silverman for three-year terms and Lowell Rothschild for a one-year term.

Joining the board by virtue of their positions are Rabbi Batsheva Appel and Phil Bregman (Jewish Community Roundtable co-chairs), Deborah Oseran (Campaign chair), Joyce Stuehringer (Women’s Philanthropy chair), Madeline Friedman  (Women’s Philanthropy Campaign chair) and Jim Whitehill (Jewish Community Foundation president). Returning board members are Jeff Artzi, Steve Caine, Avi Erbst, Julie Feldman, Adam Goldstein, Bill Holmes, Shelly Kippur, Mitch Pozez, Rachel Rivera, and Richard White.

Any 10 members may make additional nominations by delivering a signed written nomination to the Federation office with an acceptance letter signed by the nominee at least 14 days before the annual meeting, which will be held May 11 at 7 p.m. at the Tucson Jewish Community Center. Additional nominees will be presented together with the nominees selected by the nominating committee at the annual meeting of members.