JFSA to honor its stars at annual meeting

The Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona will honor its 2014 award winners at its annual meeting and awards celebration on Thursday, May 1 at 7 p.m. at the Tucson Jewish Community Center. “Feddy’s,” the custom metal and glass awards designed by Lynn Rae Lowe for the Federation, and other awards will be given to the winners at the event.

Heading the list of honorees are Woman of the Year Rosie Eilat Kahn and Man of the Year Terry Allen Perl.

Rosie Eilat Kahn
Rosie Eilat Kahn

“Rosie’s name is synonymous with all aspects of our community’s Holocaust education effort, which has been a lifetime journey for her,” says Stuart Mellan, JFSA president and CEO. “As a child of survivors, Rosie’s passion for this work has transformed many of us.” Eilat Kahn is also involved in many other community endeavors. She has served on the Federation, Handmaker Jewish Services for the Aging, Congregation Anshei Israel, Hebrew High and Jewish Community Relations Council boards and chaired the Federation’s Compelling Needs Grant program.

Terry Allen Perl
Terry Allen Perl

“Terry is a relative newcomer to Tucson, but in a very short period of time his depth of leadership has been extensive,” says Mellan. He was instrumental in developing the Federation’s Task Force for Jewish Seniors and Adults with Disabilities, which led to the creation of the Jewish Elder Access Program at Jewish Family & Children’s Services. He currently serves as the Federation’s Strategic Planning Chair, which, through its Strategic Planning Initiative, inspired the creation of the Jewish Community Roundtable. Perl also chairs the Federation’s allocations work-group and not only sits on the Federation board, but has provided leadership for Tucson Hebrew Academy and Jewish Family & Children’s Services and is incoming chair of Handmaker Jewish Services for the Aging.

“Aside from their remarkable leadership ‘resumes,’ both Rosie and Terry are warm and caring individuals who epitomize the core value to build a community where each of us is responsible for one another,” says Mellan.

Melissa Goldfinger and David Plotkin will receive the Gary I. Sarver Young Woman and Young Man of the Year Awards, which include stipends to be applied toward an Israel mission or attendance at the General Assembly of the Jewish Federations of North America.

The winners of the 2014 Meritorious Service awards are Jeff Artzi, Bob Cohen, Bill Kugelman, Leslie Glaze, Liz Kanter Groskind and Steve Zupcic. The Ben and Betty Brook Community Professional of the Year is Anne Lowe, Northwest Division director of the Jewish Federation Northwest and JFSA outreach director.

Special Recognition Awards will be given to Patty Vallance and the Tucson firefighters who participated in the Firefighters Without Borders mission to Israel, and to Audrey Brooks and Donna Moser.

The Ben and Sally Smith Memorial College Youth Award, determined by a committee of the University of Arizona Hillel Foundation, goes to Aimee Kanter. The winner of the Rabbi Arthur R. Oleisky Teen Recognition Award is Michaela Davenport. Liora Olesen will receive the Outstanding Judaic Educator Award.

The Meyer and Libby Marmis Humanitarian Award will be presented to Iskashitaa Refugee Network.

The annual meeting and awards celebration will also feature the election and installation of the Jewish Federation’s 2013-14 board of directors and recognition of outgoing leaders Gary Kippur, campaign chair, and Julie Feldman, Women’s Philanthropy campaign chair.

Dessert and coffee will be served. The cost to attend is $5 per person. The co-chairs of this year’s event are Angie Goorman and Adam Goldstein. The awards committee was chaired by Jim Whitehill.

For information or reservations, call 577-9393 or visit www.jewishtucson.org.