Jewish Federation ‘Stars’ to be honored at annual meeting

The Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona will honor its 2013 award winners at its Annual Meeting and Awards Celebration on Thursday, May 2 at 7 p.m. at the Tucson Jewish Community Center. “Feddys,” the custom metal and glass awards designed by Lynn Rae Lowe for the Federation, and other awards will be given to the winners at the event.

Jane Kivel, JFSA Woman of the Year
Jane Kivel, JFSA Woman of the Year
Lex Sears, JFSA Man of the Year
Lex Sears, JFSA Man of the Year

Heading the list of honorees are two longtime community leaders, Woman of the Year Jane Kivel and Man of the Year Lex Sears. Kivel is incoming chair of the Jewish Federation’s Woman’s Philanthropy program, outgoing chair of the Handmaker Foundation and an active leader at Congregation Anshei Israel. Sears is a key leader in the Federation’s annual campaign and this year has chaired Tucson Hebrew Academy’s strategic planning committee as well as playing a central role in the JCC’s capital campaign and search committees. “Aside from their remarkable leadership ‘resumes,’” says JFSA President and CEO Stuart Mellan, “both Jane and Lex are warm and caring individuals who epitomize the core value to build a community where each of us is responsible for one another.”

Adam Goldstein and Angie Goorman will receive the Gary I. Sarver Young Man and Young Woman of the Year awards, which include stipends to be applied toward an Israel mission or attendance at the General Assembly of the Jewish Federations of North America.

The winners of the 2013 Meritorious Service awards are Michael Achtman, Rosie Eilat-Kahn, Melissa Goldfinger, Steve Kippur, Shelly Silverman and Simon Rosenblatt. The Ben and Betty Brook Community Professional of the Year is Art Martin, CEO of Handmaker Jewish Services for the Aging.

Special Recognition Awards will be given to the Federation’s Northwest Division and its director, Anne Lowe; and to Gwen and Asher Amar of L’Chaim Kosher Catering.

The Ben and Sally Smith Memorial College Youth award recipient, determined by a committee of the University of Arizona Hillel Foundation, is Meryl Press. The winner of the Rabbi Arthur R. Oleisky Teen Recognition award is Sarah Cassius.

The Outstanding Judaic Educator Award will go to Renee Hulsey of Congregation Anshei Israel Religious School. The Meyer and Libby Marmis Humanitarian Award recipient is Make Way for Books, a children’s literacy program.

Along with award presentations, the May 2 celebration will also feature the election and installation of the Federation’s 2013-2014 board of directors and recognition of outgoing leaders Marilyn Einstein, Women’s Philanthropy chair; Deanna Evenchik, Campaign chair; and Donna Moser and Audrey Brooks, Women’s Philanthropy Campaign co-chairs.

Dessert and coffee will be served. The cost of the event is $5 per person. The co-chairs of this year’s Annual Meeting and Awards Celebration are Keri Silvyn and Michael Wexler. The awards committee was chaired by Joyce Stuehringer. For more information or reservations, call the Federation at 577-9393. To register online, visit www.jewishtucson.org.