JFSA proposes officers, directors for 2017-18

The Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona’s board governance committee, chaired by Eric Schindler, has recommended the following slate of officers for the 2017-2018 program year: Shelly Silverman, chair of the board; Eric Schindler, vice chair/board development; Deborah Oseran, vice chair; Ben Silverman, treasurer/secretary; Tom Warne, immediate past chair. Also nominated are Leslie Glaze, Adam Goldstein, Liz Kanter Groskind and Jeremy Sharpe for three-year terms, Mitch Pozez for a two-year term and Ellen Freeman and Jeff Artzi for one-year terms.

Joining the board by virtue of their positions are Bruce Beyer (planning and allocations chair), Ronnie Sebold (Campaign chair), and Audrey Brooks and Donna Moser (Women’s Philanthropy Chairs). Returning board members are Bruce Ash, Steve Caine, Avi Erbst, Rachel Rivera, Lowell Rothschild and Michael Shiner. Returning by virtue of their positions are Rabbi Batsheva Appel and Phil Bregman (Roundtable co-chairs) and James A. Whitehill (Jewish Community Foundation president).

Any 10 members may make additional nominations by delivering a signed written nomination to the Federation office with an acceptance letter signed by the nominee at least 14 days before the annual meeting, which will be held Thursday, May 11 at 7 p.m. at the Tucson Jewish Community Center. Additional nominees will be presented together with the nominees selected by the nominating committee at the annual meeting of members.