JFSA will award ‘Feddys’ at annual meeting

The Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona will hold its annual meeting and awards celebration on Thurs­day, May 10 at 7 p.m. at the Tucson Jewish Community Center. “Feddys,” the custom metal and glass awards designed by Lynne Rae Lowe for the Federation, and other awards will be given to the winners at the event.

Marilyn Einstein
Larry Gellman

Heading the list of honorees are Woman of the Year Marilyn Einstein and Man of the Year Larry Gellman. Einstein is chair of the Federation’s Women’s Philanthropy and serves on the National Women’s Philanthropy board. She has played an integral role in the Cindy Wool Memorial Seminar on Humanism in Medicine. Gellman is vice chair of the Federation as well as its investment chair and chair of the 2012 campaign. He has served on the boards of the Jewish Community Foundation of Southern Arizona, University of Arizona Hillel Foundation and JCC and is past president of Tucson Hebrew Academy. A former chair of CLAL — The National Jewish Center for Learning and Leadership, he served on the national board of United Jewish Appeal and is a former campaign chair of the Milwaukee Jewish Federation.

Keri Silvyn and Michael Wexler will receive the Gary I. Sarver Young Woman and Young Man of the Year Awards, which include stipends to be applied toward an Israel mission or attendance at the General Assembly of The Jewish Federations of North America.

The winners of the 2012 Meritorious Service awards are Myles Beck, Dani Bregman, Andrew Isaac, Sara Lindenbaum, Ken Miller, Terry Perl and Eric Schind­ler. The Ben and Betty Brook Community Professional of the Year is Brenda Landau, vice president for community planning and Women’s Philanthropy at the Federation.

The Outstanding Judaic Educator Award, determined by a Coalition for Jewish Education committee, goes to Nichole Chorny of Congregation Anshei Israel’s religious school. The Ben and Sally Smith Memorial College Youth Award, determined by a Hillel committee, goes to Leah Rafal.

Special Recognition Awards will be given to Gary Kippur for his leadership of Hillel’s capital campaign and Dan Karsch for his leadership in establishing the Israel Action Network.

The Aurora Foundation will receive this year’s Meyer and Libby Marmis Humanitarian Award.

The May 10 event will also feature the election and installation of the Federation’s 2012-2013 board of directors and recognition of outgoing leaders including Jeff Katz, Federation chair.

Dessert and coffee will be served. The cost is $5 per person. For reservations, call 577-9393 or visit jewishtucson.org.