People in the News

People in the news 6.4.10

Hilary Lyons
Ruth Osobow

HILARY LYONS was named a recipient of the 24th Annual Hadassah National Leadership Award. Lyons is Young Judaea Chair for Hadassah Southern Arizona and is the education director of Congregation Chaverim.

RUTH OSOBOW was named Hadassah Southern Arizona’s Woman of the Year. Osobow is currently chapter membership co-vice president and has held many other positions during her long affiliation with Hadassah.

ANNE LOWE will be artist-in-residence at Camp Young Judaea-Midwest in Waupaca, Wisc., for the July 4th weekend.  Lowe is the Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona’s director of outreach and the Northwest Division director.

SAM BEHREND, SUSAN CLAASSEN, MICHAEL KASSER and RICHARD and SHANA OSERAN are among the 25 individuals and teams who will be honored as arts and culture leaders by the Tucson Pima Arts Council at its 25th anniversary celebration on June 19 at the Mercado San Augustin. Behrend is the former director of Access Tucson. Claassen is founder and director of the Invisible Theatre. Kasser, a longtime arts patron and collector, is president of Holualoa Companies, a real estate investment and development firm. The Oserans are arts supporters and owners of Hotel Congress and Maynard’s Market.

The Temple Emanu-El Kurn Religious School awarded its Gerald and Marion Gendell Awards for Excellence in Jewish Education on Sunday, May 23 to second grade teacher Jodi Bransky, first grade teaching assistant Sarah Rockowitz and sixth grade teacher Steve Werlin, Ph.D. This was the third annual presentation of the awards, which include a stipend.

(L-R) Temple Emanu-El Youth Education Director Lori Riegel, Steve Werlin, Jodi Bransky, Sarah Rockowitz, Rabbi Samuel M. Cohon.