$25K award for unity, education, rescue open

Applications for the 2010 Cohon Award are being accepted through Sept. 1. The $25,000 prize will be awarded by the Rabbi Samuel S. and A. Irma Cohon Memorial Foundation for “accomplishments that benefit  Klal Yisroel — the entire Jewish people,” recognizing achievements in the fields of Jewish unity, education or rescue. The award is bestowed in memory of the grandparents of Rabbi Samuel M. Cohon of Temple Emanu-El.

Past winners include Syd Mandelbaum and Michael Hammer, Ph.D., co-founders of the DNA Shoah Project; the Koppel family of Cleveland, Ohio, in the field of education and information; Henry Sapoznik of New York for creative arts; and Roz Rothstein, founder of StandWithUs, for unity.

Recommendation forms and more information are available online at www.    cohonaward.com. To make a recommendation by mail, send information to The Rabbi Samuel S. and A. Irma Cohon Memorial Foundation, 225 N. Country Club Road, Tucson, AZ 85716.